What I’m Thankful For

I'm thankful that my mentor Ken and I both brought home some Turkey Trot hardware!

Theoden’s recent blog post  made me realize how thankful I am for my own little running community.

I’m thankful for my friend Theoden and as I posted on his Facebook page, for “…a friend who can so articulately express those things that the rest of the Charlotte running community [are] thinking and feeling, one who has helped me, and others, rekindle and continue that passion we feel for running.”

I’m thankful for my friend Todd for training with me for our first marathon, for inviting me to run on his Blue Ridge Relay team, and for always cheerfully helping me by offering tidbits of running knowledge and friendly advice.

I’m thankful for my pal and racing partner Dean who has run side-by-side with, or more often, a few steps ahead of, me in our biggest races this year, including the Suntrust Richmond Marathon where we both ran our personal bests.  I’m thankful to Dean for putting up with my incessant emails and long-winded diatribes on all things running.

I’m thankful for my buddy Bill whose newfound love of running reminds me of why I started running in the first place.  His exuberance is a steady reminder of what’s so great about our sport.

I’m thankful for my friend and mentor Ken whose years of running experience make him an invaluable resource of running knowledge.  Ken’s friendly advice and encouragement keep me going when I’m not running as well as I’d like.

And most of all, I’m thankful for my love, Laura.  Not only did she put up with endless hours of me droning on about training strategies, PR’s, and all things running, she wholeheartedly embraced the sport, taking up running herself until her love of the sport now rivals mine.  Of course, I would love her if she never ran another step, but it sure is easier to get up early on Saturday morning to go run when a beautiful girl’s getting up with you.

Leave a Reply

