How to be Thankful When You Suck

Well folks, I have some bad news. It looks like I won’t be running the 2014 Boston marathon. Or maybe that’s good news for my three fans as this blog will exist for another year. Or at least until I get so frustrated that I just up and quit.

It would appear that PowerBar has contacted the winners of their contest and unless there is some mistake or delay, I was not one of them.  Here are  a couple of people who announced on Facebook that they won – go to this link and type in Fix or Wrensch in the name field (or type in Strickland to see what losing entries look like).

Here are some amazing coincidences. At least two (the two I named above) of the four winners were members of a Facebook group called Team Squeaker Strong Run for Boston One. They both started their entries with quotes from famous people.

If only I had known, I would have started my contest entry(ies) with a quote, like maybe this one from Louis CK, “I grew up in Boston, and in Boston, people just beat the shit out of each other for no reason.” And I would have joined that Squeaker group before the contest voting began.

I’ve been doing a lot of beating myself up lately. I’ve had two shitty races in the last week, including one on Thanksgiving day where a 12-year-old kid (or thereabouts) dropped me like a bad habit up the hill at McAlpine. Laura, watching, thought I was letting him win. She asked me later, “Did you let him win so as not to crush his dream of winning?” And I answered, “Oh no, I was trying my damnedest to crush his dream. He just crushed mine first.”

This is me getting dropped on Thanksgiving by a 12-year-old.

This is me getting dropped on Thanksgiving by a 12-year-old.

Oh well, no use crying about spilled milk and all that jazz. Time to move forward. I spent Thanksgiving convincing myself that I have a lot to be thankful for. And I do. It’s ridiculously selfish, and stupid, of me to bemoan the fact that I’m not as fast as I want to be.

Time to pick a race and actually train for it. Maybe I’ll sign up for the Boston 5K and try to run a time that would indicate I deserve to be running on that hallowed ground. We’ll see.

2 Responses to “How to be Thankful When You Suck”

  1. Eric Bilbrey Says:

    On the bright side, you will lose in fantasy!!! -Mr. F

  2. John Says:

    Allen, your posts tickle me immensely! This is Meagan’s dad, John, and between the two of you, your blogs entertain me and give me a vicarious glimpse into what real runners experience. Have a wonderful holiday and keep up the great work! (blogging and running).

Leave a Reply

