On Running and Begging

Hey gang,

I apologize in advance for the rather long hiatus since my last post, but in my defense, things have been pretty busy around here. Laura and I are scrambling to raise funds for the Dick Beardsley Foundation. As part of the fundraising, we’re also trying to put together our first 5K, aptly named The Road to Boston 5K, and that’s keeping us hopping. I’m not even going to mention how busy I am with training for the Boston Marathon. Oops, damn, I just did.

We continue to bug everybody we know for help and funding. Look, I don’t want to beg anymore than you want to hear me beg – I feel like that John Turturro character begging for his life in Miller’s Crossing. But hey, it worked for him (okay, for those of you that remember the film and are arguing with me – at least it worked for him temporarily).

This will all stop if (when?) some well-off individual or organization will just step forward and donate a few grand to the cause. We’re 38% there already – all we need is $4650. A drop in the bucket in the big scheme or things. Anybody know the richest marathoner in the world? Surely we can forward this post to him/her, let them read this, and they’ll quickly write a check for this paltry sum. Right?

Or we can call this thing done if we can get somebody to step forward and be the title sponsor of our 5K. What’s a measly 5 grand to have a race named after you? You know you want to. Stan? The Stan Austin Road to Boston 5K has a nice ring to it, no? Or Ben? The Ben Hovis Road to Boston 5K? I know you guys are itching to do this so go ahead, pull the trigger. I’m sure Jinnie or Megan will understand. The college funds can wait. But hurry – whoever writes the check first gets the race named after them!

In the meantime, I’ll continue to rely on the more realistic help from my not-quite-rich-yet friends. Much thanks to everyone that has donated, and/or helped out with the race – I am eternally grateful and I hope to make it all worth it on April 21 when I plan to get some much anticipated redemption in Boston! I’ll see many of you there!

Oh, and to my many hordes of fans that are sick of all this begging business and ready to get back to the regularly-scheduled programming of self-deprecating race reports, I leave you with this, some quick pics and captions from the Charlotte Running Club’s Winter Classic 8K. Enjoy.

2 Olympic runners distraught as I outkick them. Shawn later makes fun of me for crawling down the final stretch.

2 Olympic runners distraught as I out kick them. Shawn later makes fun of me for crawling down the final stretch.

Post race - sipping hot cocoa and hanging with Warren while Sarah Palin, profile in the foreground, contemplates another run at the presidency. What was she doing at Winter Classic? Maybe she wants to oust CRC president Bill Shires before tackling the nation's highest office.

Post race – that’s me in all black, sipping hot cocoa and hanging with Warren while Sarah Palin, profile in the foreground, contemplates another run at the presidency. What was she doing at McAlpine? Maybe she wants to oust CRC president Bill Shires before tackling the nation’s highest office.

Sucking wind as a French Bulldog in the background lets me know what he thinks of my performance. Yeah, he and I are pretty much in agreement on this one.

Sucking wind as a French Bulldog in the background lets me know what he thinks of my performance. Yeah, he and I are pretty much in agreement on this one.

You know things are going poorly when a kid wearing the cotton race tee reels you in.

You know things are going poorly when a kid wearing the cotton race tee reels you in while Paul Martino looks on in disgust. Guess I won’t be getting recruited for the Crazy Legs masters team any time soon.

Beigay shows off the belt, moments before the Bronies stole it from CRC.

Beigay shows off the belt, moments before the Bronies stole it from CRC. Aaron, ashamed, walks up to beg for forgiveness after somehow allowing Asheville to beat ‘us’ (I use ‘us’ in the loosest possible sense, as in I also wore a CRC singlet in this race).

I just told Caleb, "I'm crushing you in this race, Boyd. Seriously." And then we both burst into laughter.

I told Caleb, “I’m crushing you in this race, Boyd. Seriously.” And then we both burst into laughter as Johnny Rocket giggles at overhearing this. (PS – I totally made that exchange up – I can’t remember exactly what Caleb and I said and I doubt Mr. Filette cared much about what we had to say.)

My valentine and I are all grins since we'll be running together on this day. Even if one of us does it in Ugg Boots and gets made much fun of by Tim "Gucci Freshness" Baucom.

My valentine and I are all grins since we’ll be running together on this day. Even if one of us does it in UGG Boots and gets made much fun of by Tim “Gucci Freshness” Baucom.

Leave a Reply

