The Inevitable

Well it’s happened, the inevitable (first?) big setback of the Boston training cycle has arrived. I’m sick. Ironically, it affords me time to write a post on my running blog since I can’t use the time to run.

What I find so utterly exasperating is that the weather has been downright perfect these last 2 days. I told Laura today, “When I finally feel well enough to run again, it will be 20 and raining.” You watch.

So after running between 50-60 miles for 5 of the last 6 weeks, I’ve put in a whopping 16 this week. Oh well, at least my legs will be fresh when I run in the freezing rain.

I was hoping to be writing a race recap of yesterday’s Charlotte Running Club Health and Fitness Expo 4-miler. But since I’m bedridden, I will randomly change gears on you and instead offer up a few brief movie reviews on the streaming video I’ve watched while holed up and infirm.

1) Locke (2013, Tom Hardy)

Unique and brilliant, but visually, quite boring.

Locke: unique and brilliant, but visually pretty boring.

As I browsed through Netflix and Amazon Prime for some interesting streaming movies, I stumbled upon Locke. I remembered hearing a pretty compelling review about this on NPR, and Tom Hardy seems like one of those guys that doesn’t do many bad movies, so I decided to give it a shot.

Visually, there’s not much to write home about – basically the entire movie takes place inside the protagonist’s car. Yep, it’s essentially two hours of watching a guy drive on an interstate (or whatever the British equivalent of an interstate is – Paul, help me out here). You might think this would make for an exceedingly lame movie, but you’d be wrong – the audio is what makes this flick. Hardy’s character, Locke, has a series of phone calls that make for a riveting story.

Tom Hardy gives an astounding, Oscar-worthy, performance. And while his accent (Irish? Scottish? English?) is a little iffy, at least I understood him much better than I did when he played Bane in The Dark Knight Rises. Still, I’d recommend watching this with the closed captioning turned on.

I give Locke 3 out of 4 medals.

I give Locke 3 out of 4 medals.

2) Under the Skin (2014, Scarlett Johansson)

under-the-skin-poster

Yawn.

I’d never heard of this one but Amazon Prime touted it as a sci-fi film starring Scarlett Johansson playing an alien seductress. What could be wrong with this? A lot actually.

This turned out to be one of those bizarre, loose-plot, seventiesesque-dark-themed sci-fi flicks. I really don’t know how somebody convinced Scarlett Johansson to take this role, unless they just threw a shit-ton of cash at her.

Don’t get me wrong – it has its moments. There are a couple of visually stunning (yet rather disturbing) scenes. And Johansson gets nude a half dozen times, so there’s that. But otherwise, it is a deathly slow-moving film with repetitive plot points. I found myself checking my cell phone a lot. Yawn. Do not waste your time.

medals_2

Under the Skin gets 2 medals, barely. It takes a marathoner’s persistence to sit through this one.

So that’s what’s happening with me. I think I’ll try watching The Wire while I wait for the NFL divisional games to start. I’ve heard people claim that The Wire is as good a TV show as Breaking Bad and I simply cannot see how that is possible. Let’s find out.

Hopefully, the next time you tune in here, I’ll have more/better running news to share. If not, I might be in big trouble come April.

Leave a Reply

