Limping into 2016

Hey y’all! Anybody remember me? It’s okay if you don’t – I barely remember the guy who used to write this blog, the guy that ran about 50 miles a week and qualified for Boston on a semi-regular basis. Whatever happened to that dude?

Now he’s been forsaking his blogging duties, too. Case in point, I started writing the following excerpt well over a month ago. Let’s review then I’ll catch you up with the latest:

Found and dusted off and submitted for your perusal:

Well gang, we’re two weeks into the new year and I’m still not running.

I guess I should clarify. I’m ‘running’ on the treadmill two or three times a week. I ‘run’ three minutes at a desperately slow pace, and then walk for two minutes at an even desperately slower pace, all while surrounded by obese people, running faster and farther, on adjacent treadmills. This is all a swift kick to the groin of my ego. My ego was tenuous enough when I was a ~3:25-marathoner hanging out with a bunch of ~2:40-marathoners – I don’t know how it can possibly survive this latest assault.

And while we’re on the subject of obese people on treadmills: Things were bad enough when instead of running, I was forced to go to the Y and subject myself to forms of medieval torture, e.g. the god-forsaken elliptical machine. Now, thanks to all the New Year’s resolutioners, I have to wait in line to do it. I do not have the patience to endure this shit. Please shoot me.

Back to now:

Yeah, so that’s all I wrote before getting frustrated and slamming my laptop shut in disgust.

Let me get you caught up. A few weeks ago, I had made enough progress that I decided to try to run outside. When everyone took off from Triple C for our weekly group run, I started with them, initially walking until I felt I was warmed up enough to begin my dreaded run/walk regimen. Then I ran 5-minute segments and walked two minutes, for a grand total of five miles.

When we got back to the brewery, I could tell something was not right with the knee – it was tight and hurt. I grabbed Laura and rushed home and iced down the knee. But too late, the damage was done. The next morning when I awakened, the knee hurt so much I could barely stand – I had to limp to the closet to retrieve my crutch.

The knee stayed like that for days until I broke down and made another appointment with my surgeon, who promptly scheduled me for another MRI (goodbye over a thousand  [more!] bucks!) And once the MRI was back, it showed…nothing. So Dr. Cook gave me a shot of I’m assuming was cortisone – they told me what was in there, but I’ve forgotten. I like to refer to it as the Miracle Shot, because the next day my knee was fine, zero pain. A few days later, I was back on the treadmill and I’ve been run/walking since.

Which brings us to now. Yesterday, I had the closest thing to a real run since the surgery: ~6.5 miles at 9:17/mile pace (achieved by running 4-minute segments interspersed with 1-minute walks – forced Galloway!) That’s practically a real run! If I can get to the point where I can do that three more times back-to-back, I could finish Boston in somewhere around four hours – not exactly a world record, but certainly better than my 2012 time. My Boston streak would live!

That’s it. Baby steps. See y’all in Boston!

 

One Response to “Limping into 2016”

  1. Sarah Strunk Says:

    So frustrating – but proud of you for sticking with it! If there’s no miracle in your immediate future, then here’s hoping for the fruits of patient persistence. See you in Boston (and FYI, my running in 2016 has been similarly shitty).

Leave a Reply

